Web-Ed EVENT! Terry Whalin, acquisitions editor

By Gina Burgess

First flush of love finally blossoms into full-fledged, lasting love that ends with accepting a proposal. Like an on-the-knee marriage proposal, an accepted book proposal leads to long relationships, trusted relationships, and even better, profit for both parties.
Terry Whalin–an acquisitions editor for Morgan-James Publishing–has the scoop on how to write a winner proposal. On September 27th at 1pm Eastern time, Noon Central time, 11am Mountain, and 10am Pacific time, Terry will walk you through how to write a winning book proposal.
If you are going to indie publish (or already have indie published) why would you need this web-ed?
 To market your book successfully, you need to know who your audience is. You need to be able to target that market. You need to understand who is writing similarly to you, and if you can capitalize on that. You need to understand exactly why your story is unique in your genre, or why your non-fiction book will sell. You need to understand promotion and what kind of promotion you can provide to sell your book.
If you go the traditional publishing route, you need all of the above as well.
 Bottom line, you need to know book proposal mechanics and how to make them work for you.
Terry Whalen will help you do this on September 27th 1pm Eastern/Noon Central. Register for $25 and get access to the recorded version and the handout/checklist.
Need more information for this information and crucial web-ed? Click Here.
 ~~~~~~~~
 Terry Whalin understands both sides of the editorial desk–as an editor and a writer. Terry worked previously as a magazine editor, and a book acquisitions editor at Howard Books, an imprint of Simon and Schuster and David C. Cook and he also ran his own literary agency for a couple of years. He joined Morgan James in 2012.
Terry’s nonfiction writing has appeared in magazines like Christianity Today, Writer’s Digest, The Writer and more than 50 other publications. Terry is an active member of The American Society of Journalists and Authors, which is the leading nonfiction writers group in the United States.
Terry has written more than 60 books through traditional publishers in a wide range of topics from children’s books to biographies to co-authored books. Several of Terry’s books have sold over 100,000 copies.
To encourage writers of nonfiction and fiction, Terry is the creator of Right-Writing.com at: www.right-writing. com. Also his blog about the writing life at: www.thewritinglife.ws includes over 1,200 searchable entries.
Terry and his wife, Christine, live in Colorado.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.